DC Rebirth – Here We Go Again Part 2

superman-rebirth-1-cover

SUPERMAN returns this week and I really, really mean that. In fact, I can’t stress that enough. Superman returns.

Since I haven’t been keeping up with the DC52, I had a hard time figuring out what was going on, so understand, I’m reviewing these comics as a brand new reader. A “norm” who has just discovered comics.

Yes, I’m sure there is no end to the people who could help educate me on the history of the collared cape, but I don’t want it. In fact, I highly stress the fact that I do not want any help understanding what has happened. You see, this gives me a better opportunity to fully review these as a “n00b ” and see if DC is really writing these books for new readers or just the fans.

So, yes, Superman Rebirth had me scratching my head, but only for a bit. You see, the old Superman, BEFORE the big DC52 switch-over, has secretly been hanging out in that Universe, unbeknownst to New52 Superman, who has died from fighting Doomsday. So now, old Superman is “Only Superman” and struggles with the idea of how to get New52 Superman back to life and if he can’t, what should happen next? Because you see, NewSupes had a family. He’s married to Lois and they have a half human/half Kryptonian son. Sort of like the Superman Returns movie without the weird stalking vibe.

It’s nice to see Supes back in his original costume and not the Nazi collared jerk he appeared to be in the New52. I’ll be reading this for a while as it seems DC has old Supes feeling like an outsider, which is where he usually does his best work.

STL007338-600x923

SUPERMAN #1 doesn’t quite continue where Superman: Rebirth leaves off, so again, there’s a little homework involved if you want to keep reading these titles. Basically, Clark is married and we find out his son (actually New52’s Superman’s son, but he was killed, so Clark is now an adoptive dad of sorts) has powers like his father. In fact, it’s a pretty shocking way how we find out about one of his powers.

The rest of the book deals with Clark and Lois trying to figure out how to deal with their sons gifts Nothing we haven’t seen in most story lines dealing with super powers and kids, but this has a strange feel of The Incredibles which struck a chord with me. The art is nice and neat, which makes it seem easier to get into. I have a soft spot for superhero families, like the FF, so I’ll definitely be sticking around a little longer to see how this plays out.

index

GREEN LANTERN REBIRTH tells us that between Hal Jordon, Guy Gardner, Kyle Rayner and John Stewart, Earth doesn’t have enough Green Lanterns.

We learn that the Universe is a big place though and it seems most of the GL’s are busy elsewhere, so Hal Jordon has an idea with the two newest rookie’s Jessica Cruz and Simon Baz. He pairs them together like an 80’s cop movie, tying their rings to only one lantern, making them work together as a team to help protect the Earth.

There’s some problems going on with the Red Lanterns also, who seem to be on the verge of losing everything, so we can clearly see a fight on the horizon. I’ve never been a big GL reader, but I’m a sucker for new heroes learning the ropes, so again, I’ll be sticking around to see how it goes. The art is again, nice and simple and the dialogue stays away from cliched paired cop talk, but just barely. It may get a little old fast.

STL007336-600x923

GREEN LANTERN #1 has our rookies Jessica Cruz and Simon Baz, finding a serial killer of aliens on good ‘ol Earth. Something is making people go into rages and with no Hal Jordon to hold their hands, it’s up to LeBaz….no…..Craz?……..Jeson?    How about ZZ? Ah…its a work in progress.

Anyway,  Earth GL’s Cruz and  Baz go on the hunt for a killer. Like I said, the partner banter kind of gets old already, but the characters have enough background story to keep you interested in them. It should be a good title, but the whole “I don’t like the way she does this” and “I don’t like the way he does that” won’t last long with me.

STL007729-600x923

AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT…

DC has tried to resurrect and old, and I mean old, favorite. Like, I’m so old I didn’t see this in reruns as a kid, old. I saw these first run.

Man, I’m old.

Wacky Racers was a Hannah Barbarra cartoon where a bunch a wacky characters try and race from city to city. We’re never really sure what brought them together or really, what the prizes were, but it was silly and there was nothing else on.

In DC’s reboot, they take the sweet cartoon and turn it inside out. Then shove it down its own throat and pull it out its butthole, but not before pouring whiskey all over it and lighting it on fire.

Any similarities between the old Saturday cartoon and this comic are strictly nothing more than words on a page.

We see that most of the racers are being blackmailed in a way that forces them into racing and the characters read like extras in a Mad Max movie and the director just yelled at them to ad-lib their dialogue. There’s alcohol, swearing and plenty of violence, so I’m not sure who this comic is for. Purists will hate it, kids shouldn’t read it and adults who didn’t see the cartoon will be a little lost.

I’ll admit, bought it for the nostalgia, but that quickly went out the window around page 3. The dialogue reads like an un-produced movie sequel to Death Race and sometimes the action is really hard to follow as the art is pretty messy, but on purpose; to give you feel of the future, cars and violence.

I’ll at least pick up the 2nd issue to see where it goes, but as for buying it, we’ll see.

 

Stay tuned for DC Rebirth Part 3…

Leave a Reply

